Training courses

DOA - Annex Part-21 Training Course – Available in 2019


Note: This course has been extended from a 3 day to a 3.5 day course. The content remains the same (provided with the regular updates as according to EASA regulations)

Based on the EU Regulation (EU) 2018/1139, the EU Commission has issued amongst others Regulation (EU) 748/2012. Annexed to this Regulation is Annex I ( Part 21), Certification of aircraft and related products, parts and appliances, and of design and production organisations.

Course Content

The general course breakdown for this 3 ½ day training course is as follows:

During the first day (afternoon session), second and third day of the training course, the legal and regulatory system as defined by the Regulation (EU) 2018/1139 will be explained in general terms. This will be followed by a detailed presentation of Annex I (Part 21), addressing the Section A Subparts as listed below, including the applicable AMC & GM.

Annex I (Part 21) General
Subpart A – General Provisions
Subpart B – Type Certificates & Restricted Type Certificates,
Subpart D – Changes to Type Certificates & Restricted Type Certificates
Subpart E – Supplemental Type Certificates
Subpart K – Parts & Appliances,
Subpart M – Repairs,
Subpart P – Permits to Fly,
Subpart Q – Identification of Products, Parts and Appliances.
Operational Suitability Data Requirements,
Flight Test Operations Manual,
Categories of Flight Tests, and
Flight Test Staff Qualifications

This will be followed by a presentation of the EASA internal working procedure for TC/STC. Practical examples will be presented regarding minor, major changes, STC’s and repairs and how the certification basis for a significant change shall be determined.
During the fourth day of the training course Subpart J – Design Organisation Approval, including the AMC & GM will be presented in detail.
The EASA examples of Design Organisation Handbook s will be shown for clarification and better understanding how to draft such a handbook.
The different options regarding the issuance of the Permit to Fly by either the Competent Authority or by the approved Design Organisation will also be explained.
Day 4 will be finished by a presentation of the EASA internal working procedures for DOA explaining the initial investigation, surveillance and approval of significant changes by EASA.
Courses held on location at the customer’s request can be re-structured to allow a dedicated training content based on specific customers’ needs. Click here for more information.

Learning Objectives

At the end of this 3 ½ day training course the attendees should have a detailed understanding of all the steps necessary to obtain an EASA Design Organisation Approval, the tasks and responsibilities of such an organisation and all relevant certification processes.

Who should take this course

• Managers and staff of applicants or holders of Design Organisation Approvals, TC, RTC, STC Holders and staff of Competent Authorities who have been or will be allocated by EASA the Design Organisation Approval investigation or the certification tasks regarding the issue of the TC, RTC, STC and changes and repairs thereto.
• Non-EASA Member State Aviation Authorities who would like to become familiar with the EASA DOA system or intend to implement such a system in their country.


A basic understanding of the subjects dealt with in the training course is an advantage, but not necessary.


3 and a half days: Day 1 from 13:00 hrs. to 17:00 hrs. Day 2 & 3 from 09:00 hrs. – 17:00 hrs. Day 4 from 09:00hrs. to approximately 16:00 hrs.