OVERSIGHT AND INVESTIGATION course

EU Ramp Inspection Programme (SAFA) - Initial Theoretical & Practical

Locations & Dates
Hoofddorp Netherlands
11 - 14 March 2019 Available
03 - 06 June 2019 Available
09 - 12 September 2019 Available
02 - 05 December 2019 Available
Show allShow less
€ 1490.00

Introduction

The EU Ramp Inspection Programme is a mandatory safety program within the European Union (EU). All the other non-EU Member States (ECAC and non-ECAC) that have working arrangements with the Agency are performing EU Ramp Inspections on foreign operators. In order to be able to perform EU Ramp Inspections, the inspector must have followed, amongst other requirements, initial EU Ramp Inspection Programme theoretical and practical training.

The main standards used, as a reference for the EU Ramp Inspector, are published in the ICAO Annexes (mainly 1, 6, and 8 for SAFA (foreign) inspection and EU/EASA regulation for SACA (community) inspection).

Significant increases in the volume of air travel over the last 2 decades or so have made it more of a burden for many States to oversee their airlines compliance with the Chicago Convention. To maintain confidence in the system, and to protect the interest of the European citizens who may be living in the vicinity of airports or travelling onboard a third-country aircraft, the Community identified the need to effectively enforce international (SAFA) and European (SACA) safety standards within the Community. This is done through execution of ramp inspections on third-country aircraft and community aircraft landing at airports located in the Member States. 

After Initial EU Ramp Inspection Programme training, the delegate will:

• have undergone all of the mandatory EU training requirements,
• know the basic EU & ICAO regulation and be aware of the correct procedure.
• have been trained in the specifics of the inspection items and inspection techniques, and

Course Content

This course is the former SAFA training, updated to Part-ARO/AMC/GM-Issue 3, Subpart RAMP requirements.

The following subjects will be addressed, as per EASA AMC1 ARO.RAMP.115(b)(2)(i) Qualification of Ramp Inspectors:

• MODULE (GEN) – GENERAL OVERVIEW

  • Overview of the Safety Assessment of Foreign Aircraft
  • The EU Ramp Inspection Programme’s Legal Framework
  • The ICAO Framework
  • Safety Assessment Technical Aspects – Overview
  • Ramp Inspection centralized Database – Hands on Training

• MODULE (A) - RAMP INSPECTION ITEMS (A) – Flight Crew Compartment

• MODULE (B) - RAMP INSPECTION ITEMS (B) – Cabin Safety

• MODULE (C) - RAMP INSPECTION ITEMS (C) – Aircraft Condition

• MODULE (D) - RAMP INSPECTION ITEMS (D) – Cargo

• E1 - General

 

The 1-day Practical training will take place at the KLM technical facilities located at Schiphol Amsterdam Airport.
A wide body aircraft will be available for the purpose of the mandatory practical training. As much as possible check- items, discussed during the theoretical part of the I&P training, will be demonstrated at the aircraft.

Learning Objectives

After completion of the EU Ramp Inspection Programme Inspectors Initial Theoretical and Practical course, the first part of the inspector training to become an EU recognized EU Ramp Inspector is completed.

Once qualified, EU Ramp Inspectors can participate in the EU Ramp Inspectors exchange programme.

Who should take this course

Mainly CAA inspectors, however, inspectors from Agencies acting on behalf of NAAs and/or Quality Assurance staff from operators involved in Operational, Dangerous Goods, Cabin and/or Airworthiness safety items, are welcome.

Pre-requisites

EU Ramp Inspectors should ideally be experienced CAA inspectors in the area of Flight operations (Pilot or Flight engineer), Airworthiness (Aircraft Mechanic or Flight engineer), Ground handling, Cabin Safety aspects.


Reference Part-ARO AMC-GM-Issue 3 (Annex to Decision 2014/025/R).

Duration

4 days, starting at 9:00 hrs. and finishing at approximately 17:00 hrs. This course includes a 3-day Initial Theoretical training and a 1-day Practical training.

Locations & Dates
JAA TO Hoofddorp, NL Netherlands
11 - 14 March 2019 Available
03 - 06 June 2019 Available
09 - 12 September 2019 Available
02 - 05 December 2019 Available
€ 1490.00