Basic Annex Part 21

Locations & Dates
Schiphol-Rijk Netherlands
23 - 25 November 2021 Available
Show allShow less
€ 1370.00


Based on the EU Regulation (EC) 2018/1139, the EU Commission has issued Regulation (EU) 748/2012 and. Annexed to this Regulation is Annex I - Part 21, with Section A Technical Requirements and Section B Procedures for Competent Authorities. In addition the EU Commission issued Regulation  (EU) 2019-897 of 12 March 2019 amending Commission Regulation (EU) No 748-2012

This course presents in general terms the legal and regulatory system, as defined by (EC) 2018/1139, and in detail Annex I - Part 21 of (EU) 748/2012 as well as (EU) 2019-897. It addresses the EASA design approval process and under which conditions a Type Certificate, Restricted Type Certificate, a Supplemental Type Certificate and an ETSO Authorisation will be issued by EASA.

Also, the classification of changes and repairs will be explained and under which conditions changes and repairs are approved by EASA or alternatively approved by an approved Design Organisation. The conditions under which Competent Authorities shall issue Certificates of Airworthiness, Noise Certificates and Production approvals are addressed as well and also the different options regarding the issuance of the Permit to Fly by either the Competent Authority, the approved Design – or Production Organisation will be addressed.

At the end of the training, attendees will have a general understanding of Annex I - Part 21, Section A and Section B. Note: The handout material, e.g. the power point presentations book and the EASA Easy Access Rule of Annex I - Part 21 can be consulted during the JAA-TO e-examination.

Course Content

The following subjects will be addressed:

  • Module 1 – EASA
  • Module 2 – The legal and regulatory basis in the EU

            Annex I - Part 21 – Section A

  • Module 3   – Subpart A, General
  • Module 4   – Subpart B , TC & RTC
  • Module 5   – Subpart D, Changes to the TC
  • Module 6   – Subpart E, STC
  • Module 7   – Subpart F, Production without POA
  • Module 8   – Subpart G, Production Organisation Appr.
  • Module 9   – Subpart H, Airworthiness Certificates
  • Module 10 – Subpart I, Noise Certificates
  • Module 11 – Subpart J, Design Organisation Approval.
  • Module 12 – Subpart K, Parts and Appliances
  • Module 13 – Subpart M, Repairs
  • Module 14 – Subpart O, ETSO Authorisation
  • Module 15 – Subpart P, Permits to Fly
  • Module      16 – Subpart Q, Identification of Products etc.

Annex I - Part 21 – Section B

  • Module 17 – Subpart A, General
  • Module 18 – Subpart B, TC & RTC
  • Module 19 – Subpart D, Changes to TC & RTC
  • Module 20 – Subpart E, STC
  • Module 21 – Subpart F, Production without POA.
  • Module 22 – Subpart G, Production Organisation Appr.
  • Module 23 – Subpart H, Airworthiness Certificates
  • Module 24 – Subpart I, Noise Certificates
  • Module 25 – Subpart M, Repairs
  • Module 26 – Subpart O, ETSO Authorisation
  • Module 27 – Subpart P, Permits to Fly


The Annex I - Part 21 AMC & GM is not part of this training course.

Courses held on location at the customer’s request can be re-structured to allow a dedicated training based on specific needs. Please click here for more information.

Learning Objectives

At the end of the training course the attendees should understand:

  • The differentiation between EASA and Competent Authorities regarding the issuance of approvals and certificates
  • The responsibilities of EASA, the Competent Authority and the Holders of approvals and/or certificates
  • The approval processes related to the issue of approvals and/or certificates.

Attendees should be sufficiently knowledgeable to pass the JAA-TO e-examination.

Who should take this course

  • Managers and staff of applicants or holders of approvals and certificates as well as managers and staff of Competent Authorities who are responsible within their respective organisations for the issuance of approvals and/or certificates and the oversight of approval holders. Also staff with legal and administrative functions are encouraged to attend this training.
  • Non-EASA Member State Aviation Authorities who would like to become familiar with Annex Part 21 or intend to implement this EU legislation in their country.


A basic understanding of the subjects dealt with in the training course is an advantage but not necessary.

Participants are kindly requested to bring a laptop to the course to access course material which will only be provided in electronic format.


2,5 days (starting at 09:00 every day and ending at approximately 12:30 on the last day).

Locations & Dates
JAA TO Schiphol-Rijk, NL Netherlands
23 - 25 November 2021 Available
€ 1370.00